Go to top of page

The Remuneration Tribunal is an independent statutory authority established under the Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973 (the Act). The Tribunal consists of three part-time members appointed by the Governor-General.

The current Members are:

John CondeMr John Conde AO – President – Reappointed on 29 May 2018 as Member and President for a further five years from 25 June 2018, Mr Conde was appointed originally as a member of the Remuneration Tribunal on 18 June 1998. He is Chairman of the McGrath Foundation and Chairman of Cooper Energy Limited and Chairman of Dexus Wholesale Property Fund. He is Deputy Chairman of Whitehaven Coal Limited.  Mr Conde is an ex officio member of the Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority.

Mr Conde's previous appointments include Chairman of Bupa Australia Health Pty Ltd, Co-Chair of the Review Committee: An Independent Parliamentary Entitlements System, Chairman of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Chairman of Destination NSW, Chairman of Ausgrid (formerly EnergyAustralia), Director of BHP Billiton and Excel Coal Limited, Managing Director of Broadcast Investment Holdings Pty Limited, Director of Lumley Corporation, President of the National Heart Foundation of Australia, Director of Dexus Property group and member of the Sydney Children's Hospital Network Board and the Dermatology Research Foundation and Council of the Sydney Medical School Foundation.

Heather Zampatti

Ms Heather Zampatti – Appointed a Member on 23 March 2017 for five years, Ms Zampatti has over 30 years' experience in investment advising and providing investors with professional portfolio management. Her expertise covers the full range of investment options including advice on cash, fixed interest, stockbroking and financial investment policy and strategy.

Ms Zampatti works with foundations, institutions, not-for-profit organisations, individuals and superannuation funds to ensure their investments are aligned to their specific objectives and priorities. The combination of experience and expertise enables her to advise and manage investment portfolios for a range of organisations.

Ms Zampatti is a graduate of the University of Western Australia with a Bachelor of Science and Diploma of Education. She is a Certified Financial Planner, a Master of Stockbroking and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

As Head of Wealth Management, Australia, at Bell Potter Securities, she combines her strengths as an adviser with a leadership role to assist Bell Potter achieve its goal of establishing itself as the nation's most respected provider of wealth management advice and service.

Ms Zampatti sits on the boards of Osteoporosis Australia, the University Club of Western Australia, Tura New Music and the ASIC Financial Services Consultative Committee. Ms Zampatti is a former Chair of Lotterywest, a former Chair of the Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation and a former member of the Takeovers Panel, the WA Regional Council of FINSIA, WA Ballet, the Australian Institute of Management (WA), Chief Executive Women, the Financial Sector Advisory Council and the Healthways Board.

Ms Zampatti lectures for the Australian Stock Exchange and FINSIA and gives many public seminars.

Role of the Tribunal

The Tribunal's role is to determine, report on or provide advice about remuneration, including allowances and entitlements that are within its jurisdiction for the following:

  • federal Parliamentarians, including Ministers and Parliamentary office holders
  • judicial and non-judicial offices of federal courts and tribunals
  • Secretaries of Departments
  • full-time and part-time holders of various public offices
  • Principal Executive Offices

Tribunal's Advisory Role

The Parliamentary Service Act 1999 requires the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate to consult the Tribunal about the offices of Secretaries, the Parliamentary Service Commissioner and the Parliamentary Services Merit Protection Commissioner.

Fees and allowances

The fees and allowances of Remuneration Tribunal Members are set by regulation Remuneration Tribunal (Members' Fees and Allowances) Amendment Regulations 2020 made under the Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973. The latest regulation can be found on the Federal Register of Legislation website.

Remuneration Tribunal Sitting Dates

The Remuneration Tribunal considers matters at regular intervals throughout the year. Formal meetings are convened regularly throughout the year. Submissions prepared for consideration at a meeting need to have been received no less than four weeks prior to that meeting. For urgent work the Tribunal will consider submissions out of session. For information about planned Tribunal meetings, please contact the Remuneration Tribunal Secretariat on (02) 6202 3930 or by enquiry [at] remtribunal.gov.au (email) .

Contact Details

The President
Commonwealth Remuneration Tribunal
PO Box 281

Phone: (02) 6202 3930
Fax:     (02) 6204 2736
email:  enquiry [at] remtribunal.gov.au