

Determination 2011/14: Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Public Office

- (i) Pursuant to subsections 7(3) and 7(4) of the *Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973*, the Remuneration Tribunal has inquired into the remuneration and allowances to be paid to members of parliament and holders of public office, and other matters significantly related thereto, and determines as set out below.
- (ii) This Determination takes effect on and from the day following the day it is registered in the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments unless otherwise specified.

PART 1 – FULL-TIME OFFICES

- **1.1** In this part, Determination Number 8 of 2011 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- **1.2** Table 2A of Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting the following entry after the entry for "Aged Care Commissioner":

Col 1	Col 2	Col 3	Col 4	Col 5	Col 6
Age Discrimination Commissioner	\$193,440	\$275,880	Nil		2

- **1.3** Clause 1.2 takes effect on and from 29 July 2011.
- **1.4** Table 2A of Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing the current entry for "Chairperson, Productivity Commission" and replacing it with the following entry and placing it after the entry for "Chief Executive Officer, Centrelink":

Col 1	Col 2	Col 3	Col 4	Col 5	Col 6
Chairperson, Productivity Commission	\$328,500	\$450,000	Nil		1

1.5 Clause 1.4 takes effect on and from 5 August 2011.

1.6 Table 2A of Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting the following entries after the entry for "Commissioner, ASQA":

Col 1	Col 2	Col 3	Col 4	Col 5	Col 6
Chief Commissioner & Chief Executive Officer, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)	\$266,450	\$365,000	Nil	2.2.15	2
Commissioner, TEQSA	\$226,300	\$310,000	Nil	2.2.15	2

- Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting Clause 2.2.15 after Clause 2.2.14 as follows: "2.2.15 Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency: The Chief Commissioner/Chief Executive Officer will receive an additional loading of \$25,000 per annum, to cease 12 months after his or her initial appointment commences. The Commissioners will each receive an additional loading of \$10,000 per annum, in each case to cease 12 months after their initial appointments commence."
- **1.8** Clauses 1.6 and 1.7 take effect on and from 30 July 2011.
- 1.9 Table 2A of Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting "2.2.16" in Column 5 of the entries for "Chief Commissioner & Chief Executive Officer, Australian Skills Quality Agency (ASQA)", "Deputy Commissioner, ASQA", and "Commissioner, ASQA."
- Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting Clause 2.2.16 after Clause 2.2.15 as follows: "2.2.16 Australian Skills Quality Agency: The Chief Commissioner/Chief Executive Officer will receive an additional loading of \$25,000 per annum, to cease 12 months after his or her initial appointment commences. The Deputy Commissioner/Commissioners will each receive an additional loading of \$10,000 per annum, in each case to cease 12 months after their initial appointments commence."
- **1.11** Clauses 1.9 and 1.10 take effect on and from 1 July 2011.

PART 2 – PART-TIME OFFICES

- **2.1** In this part, Determination Number 9 of 2011 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 2.2 Table A1A of Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by deleting the entries for the following bodies: "Australian Reward Investment Alliance (ARIA) Board", "Military Superannuation and Benefits Scheme Board of Trustees" and "Australian Institute of Criminology Board of Management".

2.3 Table A1A of Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting the following entry after the entry for "Building the Education Revolution (BER) Implementation Taskforce":

Col 1	Col 2 Col 3		Col 4	Col 5		
Higher Education Standards Panel (HESP)	1,027	d	847	d		2

- 2.4 Clause 2.3 takes effect on and from 30 July 2011.
- **2.5** Table A1A of Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting "A44" in Column 4 of the entry for "Murray-Darling Basin Authority".
- 2.6 The Principal Determination is amended by inserting Clause A44 after Clause A43 of the Additional Clauses to Table A1A as follows: "A44. Murray-Darling Basin Authority: While Mr Craig Knowles occupies the office of Chair, he will receive an annual fee of \$65,431."

Signed this 5th day of August 2011.

John C Conde AO PRESIDENT

John B Prescott AC MEMBER

Jillian Segal AM MEMBER