

#### **REMUNERATION TRIBUNAL**

# Determination 2009/20: Parliamentary Office Holders – Additional Salary

This Determination governs additional salary for parliamentary office holders.

### <u> PART 1 - GENERAL</u>

- **1.1** This Determination is issued pursuant to s7(1) of the *Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973*, and prevails, to the extent of any inconsistency, over Schedule 4 of the *Remuneration and Allowances Act 1990* (as contemplated in s3(2) of that latter Act).
- **1.2** This Determination takes effect on and from 1 November 2009. It revokes Determination 2008/19 in full.

#### PART 2 – ADDITIONAL SALARY AND RELATED MATTERS

- **2.1** For the purposes of this Determination, the basic salary to which reference is made in <u>Table 1</u> shall be the amount from time to time payable pursuant to Division 1 of Schedule 3 to the *Remuneration and Allowances Act 1990* and Regulation 5 of the *Remuneration and Allowances Regulations 2005*.
- **2.2** A person who holds a parliamentary office shall be paid the additional salary specified in <u>Table 1</u>.
- **2.3** In administering this Determination, authorities shall:
  - (a) calculate additional salary in <u>Table 1</u> by rounding up to the nearest ten dollars; and
  - (b) pay the annual benefits specified in proportion (*pro rata*) to the office holder's period of service during that year.
- **2.4** Where the words 'member of Parliament' are used in this Determination they refer to members of both Houses, unless there is an explicit contrary intention.

## TABLE 1

### RATES OF ADDITIONAL SALARY

Effective on and from 1 November 2009

Office	Additional salary as a percentage of the basic salary
Leader of the Opposition	85.0%
President of the Senate	75.0%
Speaker of the House of Representatives	75.0%
Deputy Leader of the Opposition	57.5%
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	57.5%
Leader of a recognised party of more than 10 members of Parliament, other than a party whose Leader is the Prime Minister or the Leader of the Opposition	45.0%
Leader of a recognised party of at least 5, and no more than 10, members of Parliament.	42.5%
Chief Government Whip in the House of Representatives	26.0%
Chief Opposition Whip in the House of Representatives	23.0%
Deputy President and Chair of Committees in the Senate	20.0%
Deputy Speaker in the House of Representatives	20.0%
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	20.0%
Chief Government Whip in the Senate	20.0%
Chief Opposition Whip in the Senate	18.0%
Second Deputy Speaker in the House of Representatives	13.0%
Whip in the House of Representatives of a Government party with more than 10 Members in the House	13.0%
Whip in the House of Representatives of an Opposition party with more than 10 Members in the House	12.0%
Head of a recognised party, not being a party whose Leader is the Prime Minister or the Leader of the Opposition, with at least five members in each house, sitting in the house other than that in which the Leader of the party sits.	11.0%
Whip in the House of Representatives of a party with at least 5, and no more than 10, Members in the House	9.0%
Whip in the Senate of a recognised party of at least 5, and no more than 10, Senators	9.0%
Government Deputy Whip in the Senate	5.0%
Opposition Deputy Whip in the Senate	5.0%
Deputy Whip in the House of Representatives of a Government party with more than 10 Members in the House	3.0%
Deputy Whip in the House of Representatives of an Opposition party with more than 10 Members in the House	3.0%
Member of the Speaker's Panel in the House of Representatives	3.0%
Temporary Chairman of Committees in the Senate	3.0%
Deputy Whip in the House of Representatives of a party with at least 5, and no more than 10, Members in the House	2.0%

## Parliamentary Committees

Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee of Public Accounts and Audit	16%
Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee on Public Works	16%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade	16%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties	16%
Chair of a Joint Statutory Committee or Joint Standing Committee, not otherwise specified (except the Joint Standing Committee on the Parliamentary Library)	11%
Chair of a Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing Committee	11%
Chair of a House of Representatives General Purpose Standing Committee	11%
Chair of a Joint Select Committee or Select Committee in the Senate or the House of Representatives	11%
Chair of an Investigating Standing Committee established by resolution of either House	11%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Privileges	11%
Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee of Privileges	11%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances	11%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills	11%
Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Procedure	11%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee on Public Accounts and Audit	8%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Statutory Committee on Public Works	8%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade	8%
Deputy Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties	8%
Deputy Chair of a Joint Statutory Committee or Joint Standing Committee, not otherwise specified (except the Joint Standing Committee on the Parliamentary Library)	5.5%
Deputy Chair of a House of Representatives General Purpose Standing Committee	5.5%
Deputy Chair of a Joint Select Committee or Select Committee in the Senate or the House of Representatives	5.5%
Deputy Chair of an Investigating Standing Committee established by resolution of either House	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Privileges	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee of Privileges	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills	5.5%
Deputy Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Procedure	5.5%
Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Senators' Interests	3%
Chair of the House of Representatives Committee of Members' Interests	3%

Signed this 15th day of October 2009

John

luiene Janel E

len

John C Conde AO PRESIDENT

Janet E Grieve MEMBER

John D 🗹 Allen MEMBER