

## **Remuneration Tribunal**

## Salaries Additional to the Basic Parliamentary Salary Statement

The Tribunal's obligation, under sub-section 6(1) of the *Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973* (the Act), is to inquire into, and report on, whether any alterations are desirable in the salaries payable to Ministers of State. In addition, under sub-section 7(1) of the Act, the Tribunal is obliged to determine additional salaries for various parliamentary office holders. Both tasks must be done at least annually.

The additional salaries payable to Ministers of State are expressed as a percentage of the parliamentary base salary. This year, as indicated in Report Number 1 of 2009 – Report on Ministers of State - Salaries Additional to the Basic Parliamentary Salary, the Tribunal has proposed the same percentages as set out in the 2008 Report.

Parliamentary office holders include the Leader of the Opposition, the Presiding Officers, leaders of minor parties, Party Whips and the Chairs of parliamentary committees. The additional salaries payable to parliamentary office holders are also expressed as a percentage of the parliamentary base salary. The Tribunal, through *Determination 2009/20: Parliamentary Office Holders – Additional Salary*, has also decided that no changes will be to the percentages applicable to these offices.

The Tribunal's determinations and reports are available on its website - http://www.remtribunal.gov.au/.

Remuneration Tribunal 21 October 2009