

# Determination 2006/23: Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Public Office and Members of Parliament

- (i) Pursuant to subsections 7(1), 7(3) and 7(4) of the *Remuneration Tribunal Act* 1973, the Remuneration Tribunal has inquired into the remuneration and allowances to be paid to holders of public office, and other matters significantly related thereto, and determines as set out below.
- (ii) This Determination takes effect on and from the day following the day it is registered in the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments unless otherwise specified.

# PART 1 - FULL-TIME OFFICES

- 1.1 In this part, Determination Number 13 of 2006 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 1.2 The Tribunal has reviewed the Principal Determination and has decided that no change should be made to the levels of remuneration and related matters.

# PART 2 - SPECIFIED STATUTORY OFFICERS

- 2.1 In this part, Determination Number 5 of 2006 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 2.2 The Tribunal has reviewed the Principal Determination and has decided that no change should be made to the levels of remuneration and related matters.

# **PART 3 – PART-TIME OFFICES**

- 3.1 In this part, Determination Number 12 of 2006 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 3.2 Column 2 of Table A1A, Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by omitting "85,520" and substituting "130,000" against the entry for Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC).

- 3.3 Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing the current wording for clause A3 (ABC) under "Additional Clauses To Table A1A" with the following:
  - "A member who is appointed as a Deputy Chair will receive \$64,140 per annum."
- **3.4** Table A1A of Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by including the following entry:

Column 1 Office Authority	<u>Column 2</u> Chair \$	Column 3 Member \$	Column 4  Additional clauses applying	Column <u>5</u> Travel tier
Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee	(full-time)	29,000		1

- 3.5 Schedule B of the Principal Determination is amended by deleting "Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee".
- 3.6 Table A1A of Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by omitting the current entry for the Australian Fair Pay Commission, and substituting the following entry:

Column 1 Office Authority	Column 2 Chair \$	Column 3 Member \$	Column 4  Additional clauses applying	Column 5 Travel tier
Australian Fair Pay Commission	35,000	22,750	A38	1

- 3.7 Schedule A of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing the current wording for clause A38 (AFPC) under "Additional Clauses To Table A1A" with the following:
  - "The Chairman will receive an amount of \$725 per day for each day above 35 days per annum, up to a maximum of 85 days per annum. The Member will receive an amount of \$544 per day for each day above 35 days per annum, up to a maximum of 55 days per annum."
- **3.8** Clauses 3.2 to 3.7 take effect on and from 1 January 2007.
- 3.9 The Tribunal has reviewed the Principal Determination and has decided that no other change should be made to the level of fees and allowances.

#### PART 4 - MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT - TRAVELLING ALLOWANCE

- **4.1** In this part, Determination Number 14 of 2006 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 4.2 Clause 2.13 of the Principal Determination is amended by deleting the table under the heading Table 2A MAXIMUM NUMBER OF OVERNIGHT STAYS PER YEAR and inserting the following in its place:

Chamber	State or Territory/Electorate	Overnight stays a year
Senators	Except from the Northern Territory	30
	From the Northern Territory <sup>a</sup>	66
Members	Electorate of 10,000 to 19,999 km <sup>2</sup>	16
	Electorate of 20,000 to 99,999 km <sup>2</sup>	25
	Electorate of 100,000 to 499,999 km <sup>2</sup>	35
	Electorate of 500,000 to 999,999 km <sup>2</sup>	50
	Electorate of Lingiari	66
	Electorate of Kalgoorlie	75

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Subject to review.

#### PART 5 - MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT - ENTITLEMENTS

- 5.1 In this part, Determination Number 18 of 2006 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- Part 8 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing the heading 'SEVERANCE TRAVEL' with the heading 'SEVERANCE BENEFITS', followed by a subheading 'Severance Travel'.
- **5.3** The Principal Determination is amended by inserting the following clauses after clause 8.5:

#### "Resettlement Allowance

- 8.6. Subject to clauses 8.7 and 8.8, a senator or member who retires involuntarily from the Parliament will be paid a Resettlement Allowance equal to 12 weeks of the basic parliamentary salary.
- 8.7 Senators and members eligible for the Resettlement Allowance are those who:
- (a) have joined the Parliament at or since the November 2001 election; and
- (b) are not able to access a pension or superannuation benefit (related to their service in the Parliament) immediately upon ceasing to be a Member of the Parliament; and

- (c) have retired involuntarily through loss of party endorsement for reasons other than misconduct, or through defeat at an election.
- 8.8 The Resettlement Allowance will be payable:
- upon dissolution of the Parliament, where the senator or member elects not to stand for re-election following loss of party pre-selection for reasons other than misconduct; or
- upon announcement of the election results, where the senator or member has been defeated at an election (including where he or she has campaigned to be elected to represent a different electoral division or to the other House of the Parliament); and
- (c) at the rate of basic parliamentary salary that is current on the date the Parliament is dissolved prior to the election."

# PART 6 - PARLIAMENTARY OFFICE HOLDERS - ADDITIONAL SALARY

- **6.1** In this part, Determination Number 21 of 2006 is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- Table 1 of the Principal Determination is amended by inserting the following entries:

Deputy Chair of an Investigating Standing Committee established by resolution of either House		
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee of Privileges		
Deputy Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee of Privileges		
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Regulations and Ordinances		
Deputy Chair of the Senate Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills		
Deputy Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Procedure		

Signed this 22 day of December 2006

John C Conde AO PRESIDENT

Janet E Grieve MEMBER

c. Comme Janel & brieve

John D C Allen MEMBER